Astrology

Ekadashi 2020 – Date, Shubh Muhurat, Puja Vidhi and Importance

Ekadashi 2020: Ekadashi has immense importance in Hindu traditions. As per the Hindu calendar, it is the 11th day in the lunar or new moon cycle.

Hindus keep a fast on the Ekadasi day to get free from the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth. Fasting in Ekadashi is a spiritual act. 

In 365 days, there are 24 Ekadasi, two in each month during the lunar cycle. One falls during Shukla Paksha and another during Krishna Paksha.

Ekadashi 2020 – Date, Shubh Muhurat, Puja Vidhi and Importance

Ekadashi 2020

Must Read: Shubh Muhurat for Starting a Business in 2020

People celebrate this day by keeping fast to control eleven senses – five organs, five action organs, and mind. Devotees eat only foods that are allowed. 

Devotees of Lord Vishnu believe this is an auspicious day, hence, they worship him and pray for his blessings. 

As per the Hindu calendar, there will be 25 Ekadashi dates this year. Ekadashi fast lasts for three days. Devotees start their fast strictly on Ekadashi day and break it the next day at dusk.  One can take water, fruits, and observe partial fasting.

Date Ekadashi 2020
Monday, 06 January Paush Putrada Ekadashi
Monday, 20 January Shattila Ekadashi
Wednesday, 05 February Jaya Ekadashi
Wednesday, 19 February Vijaya Ekadashi
Friday, 06 March Amalaki Ekadashi
Thursday, 19 March Papamochani Ekadashi
Saturday, 4 April Kamada Ekadashi
Saturday, 18 April Varuthini Ekadashi
Sunday, 03 May Mohini Ekadashi
Monday, 18 May Apara Ekadashi
Tuesday, 02 June Nirjala Ekadashi
Wednesday, 17 June Yogini Ekadashi
Wednesday, 01 July Devshayani Ekadashi
Thursday, 16 July Kamika Ekadashi
Thursday, 30 July Sravana Putrada Ekadashi
Saturday, 15 August Aja Ekadashi
Saturday, 29 August Parsva Ekadashi
Sunday, 13 September Indira Ekadashi
Sunday, 27 September Padmini Ekadashi
Tuesday, 13 October Parama Ekadashi
Tuesday, 27 October Papankusha Ekadashi
Wednesday, 11 November Rama Ekadashi
Wednesday, 25 November Devutthana Ekadashi
Friday, 11 December Utpanna EkadashiEach 
Friday, 25 December Mokshada Ekadashi

Each Ekadashi has its own rules for fasting and must be strictly observed. People should also refrain from bad deeds and thoughts. Also, people donate clothes, food, milk, grains to Brahmins. It is auspicious.

Join The Discussion